FADIPL Elects New Board Members

FADIPL Elects New Board Members

The Foundation for Advancement of Diversity in IP Law Elects New Board Members

Arlington, VA – November 8, 2023—The Foundation for Advancement of Diversity in IP Law announces an expansion of its Board of Trustees and the election of sixnew Board Members.  These newly elected members bring a wealth of experience in the Intellectual Property Law field, as well as a demonstrated commitment to increase diversity in the IP Law profession.  The newly elected Trustees are:

Erika Arner– Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
Thad Chaloemtiarana – Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP
Karen Cochran – Shell, IPO Representative
Serena Farquharson-Torres– Bristol Myers Squibb
Nicholas Kim – Microsoft, ABA IPL Section Designee
Keira Mathey – Johnson & Johnson, Chair

Since 2001, the Foundation has supported diversity- mined individuals  as they explore possible careers as intellectual property lawyers.  In 2020, the Foundation announced the new Sidney B. Williams, Jr. Scholar Program, which focuses on advancing the career readiness of Scholars through development opportunities that fall outside the typical law school curriculum.  These efforts are aimed at preparing Sidney B. Williams, Jr. Scholars to become leaders in the patent law profession.


About the Foundation

For nearly two decades the Foundation—formerly the American Intellectual Property Law Education Foundation—has worked for the advancement of diversity in the IP profession.  In 2020, the Foundation adopted its new name—Foundation for Advancement of Diversity in IP Law— to accompany an expansion of the Foundation’s longstanding programming aimed at attracting diversity-minded members in the IP law profession—and advancing their opportunities for achievement in the profession once completing law school.  Since its inception, the Foundation had provided over $2.7 million in scholarship assistance to over 160 individuals.