Jan Jancin Award – AIPLA Past Presidents Award

The Jan Jancin Award is a merit-based award that honors Jan Jancin, who served with extraordinary distinction in numerous IP bar leadership roles throughout his career, including as both presidents of the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) and as the chair of the Section on Intellectual Property Law of the American Bar Association.  This award is made possible through the generosity of both AIPLA and the ABA IPL Section.

The AIPLA Past Presidents Award is a merit-based award that is made possible through the contributions to the Foundation each year by past presidents of the AIPLA.  The Foundation thanks this past year’s AIPLA past presidents who have supported the Foundation and the award: Robert Armitage, Barbara Fiacco,  Melvin Garner, Sharon Israel, Fred Koenigsberg, William LaFuze, Jeffrey Lewis, Gary Newtson, Roger Parkhurst, Louis Pirkey, James Pooley, Teresa Rea, Andrea Ryan, Thomas Smegal, and Mark Whitaker.

Both of these awards recognize second and third-year law students who are members of an underrepresented racial or ethnic group who, although still students, have nonetheless contributed to the IP law profession through work experience relevant to the practice of intellectual property law, achievement in intellectual property law coursework, active membership or leadership roles in intellectually property law student organizations, published writings on intellectual property law topics, or other efforts that advance the study or practice of intellectual property law.  Any ABA-accredited law school offering at least one course on an intellectual property law subject may nominate an individual to receive these awards.


The winner of the Jan Jancin Award receives a $5,000 cash award, as well as reasonable travel expenses to attend the presentation of the award in person, which is made each year during either the AIPLA Annual Meeting or a meeting of the ABA IPL Section*.

The winner of the AIPLA Past Presidents Award receives a cash award of $2,500, and is invited to attend the presentation of the award in person at the AIPLA Annual Meeting.

*If conditions result in a virtual AIPLA meeting in October of 2021, travel reimbursement will not apply.

The dean or appropriate faculty member of a law school, who has direct knowledge of the student, will have the opportunity on behalf of the law school to determine which student, among the individuals enrolled at that law school, best exemplifies excellence in the field of intellectual property law and thereby becomes eligible to be nominated by the law school for this award.

The law school making the nomination will have the flexibility to use any reasonable criteria, including, by way of example, any of the following: (1) best grades in IP courses overall; (2) outstanding achievement in specified IP courses; (3) best IP paper written by a student; (4) determination by a faculty consensus; or (5) membership and activity in student IP organizations.

Each of the following items must be received by the Foundation in a single nomination package, by email (to: Admin@DiversityInIPLaw.org):

  1. A letter of recommendation identifying the student candidate and explaining why the nominee is believed to be deserving of the award. This letter should be no more than two pages in length. It should be completed by a member of the faculty who has direct knowledge of the student’s work.
  2. The Jan Jancin Application Summary completed by the student candidate.
  3. A one-page essay by the student candidate discussing their personal achievements in the field of IP law.

Representatives of the Foundation will select the winners of the 2021 Jan Jancin Competition. If you have questions concerning this honor, please contact us at Admin@DiversityInIPLaw.org. We look forward to receipt of your nomination for the 2021 Jan Jancin Competition.